Software FX Community

Sums from multiple databases...

eenlow

I am trying to create a Cash meter for my company. In my company we have 4 Great Plains DBs. I want to total a field from each database. At this pont i have created a stored procedure for one company get the sum i need. Now my problem is getting the other companies to total with this one. My real problem is im not a pro with SQL nor PowerShell. If possible could someone give me a hand in accomplishing this goal.

Thanks

Eric

So you've managed to create a stored procedure that you can use to get the value from each database?

From there, since you're posting here, I'll assume you have PowerGadgets installed.

You can run a stored procedure easily from PowerShell:

PSH>invoke-sql -server SQLSERVER -sql "exec stored_procedure"

(ignoring authentication for now unless you need it)

I'm not sure what kind of information your stored procedure will output, so you'll want to do something like this:

PSH>$sql_var1=invoke-sql -server SQLSERVER -sql "exec stored_procedure"

Then:

PSH>$sql_var1|get-member

You'll need to post here what the above output gives.  We need to get just the string value of your total, and the above is a first step.

Marco,

Thanks for the response. I am actually stuck with writing the SP. This is what i have so for and need to include the other DBs...

This gives me the 1 company. But im not sure how to write the rest.

USE [MSI]

GO

GO

/****** Object: StoredProcedure [dbo].[Gadget_MSI_CASH] Script Date: 06/06/2007 10:46:34 ******/

SET ANSI_NULLS ON

ANSI_NULLS ON

GO

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON

QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON

GO

CREATE PROCEDURE [dbo].[Gadget_MSI_CASH]

PROCEDURE [dbo].[Gadget_MSI_CASH]

AS

SELECT CM00500.CHEKBKID, CM00500.DSCRIPTN, CM00500.INACTIVE, CM00500.CURRBLNC, CM00500.BANKID, CM00500.Last_Reconciled_Balance,

CM00500.Last_Reconciled_Date, SY04100.BANKNAME, SY04100.CITY, SY04100.STATE