Software FX Community

Sample code to generate Stack in charts

kelmic1978

Hello

I am new to chartfx, and going the tutorials provided by chartfx didn't help me much.

I hope you guys can provide me some sample running code in VB.NET or point me some references in order to achieve what I need as show below.

[Prototype] 

formtextvalue1 = 2

formtextvalue2 = 5

sql = "select A,B,C from tableName"

I want to put result A on the Y-axis, formtextvalue1 to 5 to being on my X-axis range, and values of B & C to be in the stack bar chart values.

Thanks in advance!

[/End Prototype]

post-3100-13922400461347_thumb.jpg

What do you mean by: "put result A on the Y-axis" ?

Aren't the stacked values (A and B) also plotted against the Y-Axis?

What is this "formtextvalue1 to 5"? Where does it come from?

Stacked charts are no different than any other chart and the data is passed in the same way (plenty of samples in the resource center). The only difference is how the data is plotted, is a stacked chart the each series is plotted on top of the previous series, making the values accumulate.

So for example if you have a chart with two series, then you will have, for each point. a stacked bar with 2 sections, 1 for series 1 and 1 for series 2.

By default,if you use DataBInding, each numeric column in your data source will become a series. For example if A,B and C are numeric:

"select A,B,C from tableName"

Will produce a chart with three series. This is three bar segments (colors) for each record in your resultset.

Hello

Thanks for responding! Look below for my responses in italics. 

What do you mean by: "put result A on the Y-axis" ?

Aren't the stacked values (A and B) also plotted against the Y-Axis?

Response: You are right. Both A & B are to be plotted against Y-Axis. I just want to point that out, just in case.

What is this "formtextvalue1 to 5"? Where does it come from?