Software FX Community

Multi-Color Bubble chart

sm19

Hello,

I am an experienced BI developer but new to Power Gadgets and am loving the trial.  I have had success with everything so far but the multi-color bubble chart.  How should I structure my query if I want the following display:

x-axis: age

y-axis: success percentage

size of bubble: salary

color of bubble: role 

Any help provided is much appreciated!

SM 

If you are using the PowerGadgets creator, you will be able to plot Age, Success Percentage and Salary as you need but not the coloring depending on the region. A bubble chart requires 2 series, the first one will be used for the Position of the bubble and the second one for the size of the bubble. Additionally, it supports X values so your query should return Age,SucessPerc,Salary.

If you are willing to create the gadget using a powershell script, you can use a feature implemented in a later build that allows you to write a little function that controls which conditional attribute is applied to a point. You can read more about it here.

Contents of BubbleData.csv
-----------------------------------------------------
Age,SuccessPerc,Salary,Role
22,45,1500,R0
25,75,2500,R1
35,53,1100,R0
42,62,1300,R2

Contents of Bubble.ps1
$condition = {
  if ($_.Role -eq "R0") {
  0;
  } else {
  if ($_.Role -eq "R1") {
  1;
  } else {
  2;
  }
  }
}

import-csv C:\Data\BubbleData.csv | out-chart -gallery Bubble -values SuccessPerc,Salary -xvalues Age -axisY_Title_Text "Success Percentage" -axisx_Title_Text "Age" -axisy2_Visible false -axisX_Min 10 -axisX_Max 50 -axisy2_Min 0 -axisy2_Max 4000 -conditionalattributes_0_color red -conditionalattributes_1_color yellow -conditionalattributes_2_color green -condition $condition -conditionalattributes_0_text "Role 0" -conditionalattributes_1_text "Role 1" -conditionalattributes_2_text "Role 2" -legendbox_itemattributes_-series_visible false

Note the following