Software FX Community

Bubble chart axis problem

mattias

Hi! I'm a complete ChartFX newbie so excuse me if this is a trivial question. I want to create a bubble chart based on data from business objects, but have problems getting the X axis and legend to show the information I want.

Basically I have a business object (lets call it BubbleObject) with three properties of type Single named X, Y and Size, and one string property called Name. I want the X and Y properties to be the coordinates of each bubble, Size to control its size and Name to show up in the legend. So I add a chart to a web form, configure it to use a 2D Bubble chart type with MultiColors. Then I add the following code to Page_Load

Dim bubbles() As BubbleObject = { _       New BubbleObject(1, 1, 1, "First"), _       New BubbleObject(2, 2, 2, "Second"), _       New BubbleObject(3, 3, 3, "Third")}     Chart1.AxisX.Min = 0     Chart1.AxisX.Max = 5     Chart1.AxisX.Step = 1     Chart1.AxisY.Min = 0     Chart1.AxisY.Max = 5     Chart1.AxisY.Step = 1     Chart1.DataSourceSettings.Fields.Add(New FieldMap("X", FieldUsage.XValue))     Chart1.DataSourceSettings.Fields.Add(New FieldMap("Y", FieldUsage.Value))     Chart1.DataSourceSettings.Fields.Add(New FieldMap("Size", FieldUsage.Value))     Chart1.DataSourceSettings.Fields.Add(New FieldMap("Name", FieldUsage.Label))     'Chart1.DataSourceSettings.Style = DataSourceStyles.KeepLabels     Chart1.DataSource = bubbles

The end result looks like this

Posted Image

The problem here is, I guess, that the x axis is a "categorical axis" when I want a "numerical axis" that shows 0 ... 5. The "Numerical and Categorical Axes" topic in the Programmer's Guide explains the difference but doesn't say how to chose one or the other. If I uncomment the line setting the DataSourceSettings.Style to KeepLables I get this instead.

Posted Image

Now the axis is OK but the legend doesn't display the object names. What I want is something inbetween that would look like this