Software FX Community

Help with out-chart

sstranger

First I want to say I love your software! I'm quite new to PowerShell (as most of us) but I would like to have piped the results of Alerts on my system to PowerGadget. I would like to have different colors (red for error, yellow for warning and green for information) for each column and have each column (Error, Warning, Information) in the legenda.

This is the result of the PowerShell command which I want to pipe to PowerGadget.

PS Microsoft.EnterpriseManagement.OperationsManager.Client\OperationsManagerMonitoring::> get-alert | group-object severity | sort-object count -descending | select Count, Name

Count Name
  ----- ----
20 Error
  6 Warning
  2 Information

If I pipe this to the out-chart Cmdlet from PowerGadget I don't get the result I want. Everything is in the same color and the count is in the legenda.

I tried to change this by adding this:

out-chart -Title "Alerts" -LegendBox_CustomItems_0_Text "Error"-LegendBox_CustomItems_0_Color Red

But there must be a better way. Can you please help?

Regards,
Stefan Stranger
http://weblog.stranger.nl

First, an explanation of the results you are getting,  PowerGadgets charts will use one color per series in the chart, by default each series corresponds with a numerical column in your data so in your case there is 1 series (Count) and 3 points.

There are 2 ways to get multiple colors in your chart in your scenario

alerts | out-chart -datasourcesettings_style +Transpose

In this case you are telling us to transpose your data, this means your chart will now have 3 series (Error, Warning, Info) and 1 Point (labeled count). Note that this would also work if you were data was returning more than 1 numerical column, e.g. Count and YesterdayCount

alerts | out-chart -allseries_multiplecolors true